Week 1: Pain in my Ass

The challenge has officially begun, and I have survived the first week.. but not without my fair share of struggles.

Stepping foot in a gym when you know without a shadow of a doubt that you are incredibly out of shape can be very intimidating. Surrounded by hard bodies in spandex pumping iron in front of a mirror you just can’t help but think this may not be your scene. Well.. too bad, it is now! This is my new reality.

My first day was scary to say the least. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, or how hard my new trainer would kick my ass. I was pleasantly surprised. He was very attentive and patient. He took the time to demonstrate how to do the exercise and then corrected me when I did them. Together we began PHASE 1: THE FOUNDATION. This basically means we will begin retraining my body how to do something other than watch Netflix and nap on the couch. Primary focus is on weight training.

After my first workout I could barely walk home. I staggered down the street to the local drug store to buy epsom salts which I was instructed to use in a bath to attempt to relax my muscles which were FREAKING OUT!!! They only had eucalyptus scented salts remaining… so I bought them. Went home got in a bath, made the whole house smell like a koala bear. Did it help? Kind of.. but not really. I could barely walk to work the next day, the sight of stairs made me cringe.. I actually walked up wheelchair ramps instead *true story.* The day after that wasn’t much better, and guess what it was time to go back to the gym. I truly wondered how I would make it through any kind of workout. Well, I made it. It was tough but once my muscles warmed up I started enjoying the workout. I left the gym feeling better and actually in LESS PAIN than when I went in. By the time my 3rd workout rolled around that week I was feeling pretty pumped, pretty proud, and still pretty sore. None the less, I ended the week in good spirits!

Squats Completed: 140

Squats Remaining: 9,860

In terms of diet, week one consisted of nothing more than a focus on water intake. 3.5 litres a day. I didn’t really know how much that was.. so I dumped a 2L of coke down the drain (won’t be drinking that anymore) and poured it into my cups to see how many I would have to drink. It’s appx 6 – 18/20 oz cups of water per day. Prepare to pee.. A LOT.. like every hour on the hour from sun up to sun down.

Health Bonus: I experienced 0 afternoon headaches in the entire week.

I’d say, week 1 was a win!

3 thoughts on “Week 1: Pain in my Ass

  1. Sounds like a fantastic start to your new healthy lifestyle! 🙂 Go you!! I always find when I drink LOTS of water that my entire body is grateful for the hydration; everything just flows more smoothly. 🙂

  2. I try to drink around 3 liters of water every day and when I actually REMEMBER to do that, I pee like every hour, ha. I’m sure my coworkers think I have the smallest bladder ever. It makes a huge difference in how I feel, though, so it’s totally worth it.

    • haha yes I tell my coworkers if they are ever looking for me and I’m not at my desk I’m either filling up my water bottle or in the washroom. BUT a small price to pay to feel alert, I’m more awake than when I used to have a constant source of caffeine by my side!

Leave a Reply

