Week 4/5: Burn Baby, Burn

Well it certainly has been awhile since the last update, allow me to explain the reasoning behind the pause…

Week 4: I began the week feeling strong, ready to hit the gym to make up for the naughty treats I had at the cottage. Monday was good day, we continued with super sets and I was feeling strong. As of Tuesday however, it was all downhill. I got a raging fever and I had some pain.. so I went to my local family doctor. I was sent for an ultrasound due to the pain in my abdomen but it showed nothing. No one seemed to care that I had a fever, so I figured, must just be a case of the flu. I spent the next few days trying to make it through work popping over the counter flu meds to keep the fever at bay.

As of Friday, I thought I was feeling a bit better, so I went back to the gym. Throughout the workout I was asking my trainer “do I usually sweat this much and breathe this hard?!?” he said no.. confirming I was still sick. We sat down, I was pretty dizzy.

Squats completed this week: 75

Squats completed to date: 525

Squats remaining: 9,475

Friday night rolled around and I started shaking around 9pm. I called a friend and asked her to walk with me to the ER.. from there I was admitted to the hospital with a fever of 39.5 degrees C (appx 104F for all you Americans reading this). I had 5 hypothermia blankets on and was shaking as if I was having a seizure. Let’s just say this was the scariest night of my life. I spent the next 5 days in the hospital and was diagnosed with a severe kidney infection.

Week 5 began and I was still in a hospital bed with a steady stream of antibiotics pumping through an IV. To make matters worse, my kidneys couldn’t process all the fluids they were flushing through me, so I wound up with fluid in my lungs. At that point I had an IV plus…oxygen tubes. Honestly, what a miserable experience. I finally came home, and have spent the last 5 days trying to rest and rebuild my energy.

Tomorrow is Monday, and the start of week 6. I can honestly say, I have never been happier to go back to work and be a part of regular life. I will go back to the gym tomorrow as well. I have no sign of fever or pain and I can officially take a deep breath in again.

I suppose the whole point of this post is to 1)explain my absence and 2)share my lesson learned. The lesson being: listen to your body. It isn’t always best to “push through the pain” I am not a champion for going to the gym before admitting myself to the ER.. that just makes me well, silly. Additionally, I encourage you to take a look around and be thankful. Be thankful for the health that you do have, because I assure you when you don’t have your health you don’t have much. Life really loses all its zest when you are strapped to a bed and can’t even feel a breeze on your face.

That being said, it’s time for me to get up off of the couch. Life may have tried to knock me down these past few weeks, but it sure as hell isn’t going to KNOCK ME OUT! I’m in this to win this.

Leave a Reply

