Food for Thought: Ham, Zucchini, and Gruyere Frittata

I have a confession: my true culinary love is baking. That’s right, I REALLLLLLLY like making cookies, pies, cupcakes you name it. If only they didn’t have any calories!!! Anyways, when it comes to baking there is one woman who I hold above all others. One name that rings loud and clear, say it with me, MARTHA STEWART! I love Martha so much, I named my mixer after her… Image<— This is Martha.Β The day I got Martha for Christmas from my parents was easily one of the happiest moments of my life. I kid you not.. I just sat there balling my eyes out shaking the box.. there’s a video somewhere maybe it will resurface to bring you Christmas cheer in a few months.

At any rate.. I’ve tried MANY and I mean MANY Martha baking recipes and they have all been fabulous. However, in light of my new pursuit of health.. I thought I would scan her recipes for something that I could eat without breaking too many rules. I stumbled upon a recipe for a ham, zucchini, and gruyere frittata.. here’s how it turned out:

Ham, Zucchini, and Gruyere Frittata

Β 

ImageI really liked this recipe for multiple reasons. First and foremost it was insanely easy and quick! Secondly, there are endless possibilities to customize this dish to your liking. Pretty much any combination of meat, vegetables, or cheese would work. Also, it’s low in both carbs and sugar. A true brunch win! A brunch with no bread? Or pastries?!? Ya.. that’s right.. it IS possible.

Happy weekend everyone!

6 thoughts on “Food for Thought: Ham, Zucchini, and Gruyere Frittata

  1. Looks delicious! Is MS’s show still on? I am so with you on baking over cooking. I would not fit thru the door if I baked as much as I want to. My mixer is racy red and her name is Katniss.

Leave a Reply

