Week 12: Say Yes to the Dress(ing)

Happy (Canadian) Thanksgiving! I hope all my fellow canadians had a wonderful turkey filled weekend like I did! As for my American buddies, pretty sure you celebrated Columbus Day this past weekend, but to be honest I have no idea what kind of food you eat on that day..

Anyways, fall is officially here, and what a great time of year it is. This year I am thankful for many things, the most important thing being my new additional family. It’s so amazing to say that I now get to be a part of 2 amazing families. My cup is overflowing with love, so to speak.

So last week was my first week back to the gym after vacation. Boy oh boy, I know I’ve mentioned it before but let me say it again.. TAKING A BREAK IS HARD!!! Going off your routine and then trying to get back on it brings a lot of pain (and sometimes nausea) haha. We started Phase 3: BURN this week. What is “BURN?” Well.. I’m pretty sure the technical reason for the name has to do with the burning of fat and calories. My personal definition of burn has several meanings: extreme muscle burn, burn from the sweat dripping in my eyes, or the burn my trainer feels from the death glares I keep shooting him.

These workouts are essentially designed to kill me.. or make me throw up (whichever comes first). I completed only 2 this week before I hopped in a car and headed to my family’s house for turkey. 6 exercises in a row, 15 reps each, alternating an upper and a lower body muscle group. Then, multiply that set of 6 exercises by 5 separated by 2 min of rest and add on one of those dreaded “finishers.” I swear, the first time I attempted this, I looked at my trainer and said “If you don’t slow down I’m going to projectile vomit on your face.” I got an extra breather for that one.

Squats completed this week: 150

Squats completed to date: 1,566

Squats remaining: 8,434

I did get something pretty special this weekend which will keep me motivated to keep this “burn” going.. I SAID YES TO THE DRESS!!! Honestly I can’t believe how much easier the process was than I expected. First one I tried on was the winner. I tried on about 10 others but just kept looking at the first one. I wish I could post a pic, but my fiancee reads my blog! I can’t spoil the big surprise.

One thing I can share though, is our wedding venue! We have our names in a lottery at this VERY MOMENT to have our wedding in DISNEYWORLD at the wedding pavilion at the Grand Floridian.

ImageImage

Everyone keep your fingers crossed! We find out tomorrow if we won the wedding lottery!!

Married ladies: What was your search for the perfect dress like? Anyone else have the first dress they tried on be “the one?”

4 thoughts on “Week 12: Say Yes to the Dress(ing)

  1. Congrats on getting your dress, so exciting! I tried on a TON of dresses. Literally, like, 50 or so, maybe more. I loved so many of them but I couldn’t commit. Finally, I realized that the problem was that I was loving the dresses in the abstract, or how they looked on me, but what was missing was a dress that FELT like me. When I finally found it, I knew it was the one 🙂

Leave a Reply

